6 thoughts on “Close up Full Moon

  1. Michael says:

    That’s an excellent shot, and thanks for commenting on my blog! Yes, I’ve been finding that just pointing the camera into the eyepiece doesn’t work badly at all, and I’m also finding that it helps to steady my hand or forearm against something – and also to take lots of exposures, because some of them do still get a bit blurry, but there are usually a few good ones!

  2. For sure. I wish I had some kind of tracking device on my telescope. Trying to get a long exposure is tough when the object is moving across your eye piece. How do you get around that?

  3. Michael says:

    I don’t have any kind of mechanism for time exposures, nor do I have any tracking device. I just readjust the telescope every couple of minutes and take a few shots until it moves out of view, then readjust again. What kind of telescope do you have?

  4. Celestron C130-Mak GT Maksutov-Cassegrain. It’s nothing too complicated but produces some very satisfying results. I’ll see what I can do about the early mornings. Had some great opportunities to see Jupiter recently though.

  5. That is a great shot. I had not thought of just aiming a camera into the eyepiece. Now I want a telescope. I’m lucky to be living far enough out into the country to be able to see stuff like the milky way with the naked eye, need to take advantage of the lack of light pollution.

Leave a comment